Guides · Comparisons · For small business owners testing an ai receptionist
Is there a free AI receptionist? What the free plans and trials really include
By the Lead Friendly team · Published October 15, 2026 · Updated October 15, 2026
Read these guides often? Add leadfriendly.com as a preferred source in Google.
Short answer: Yes, but most offers are time-limited trials, not free forever. As of October 2026, Smith.ai lists a free plan of 25 calls a month with no time limit stated, and Quo's pricing page lists 10 calls' worth of free credits on every plan. Dialzara, Rosie and My AI Front Desk offer 7-day trials, Upfirst 14 days, and Goodcall a free demo agent you pay to connect to a real number. Verify each on the vendor's site, because several pages do not say whether a card is needed.
What each vendor says is free, as of October 2026
We read each vendor's own pricing or FAQ page on 2026-10-15. 'Not stated' means the page we read did not say, not that the answer is no. Terms change, so verify on the vendor's site before relying on any row.
| Vendor | What is free | Type | Limit | Card required? |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Smith.ai (AI plans), as of Oct 2026 | Free plan: 25 real calls a month, then $3.00 a call | Ongoing free tier | 25 calls a month; no time limit stated | Not stated |
| Quo (Sona) | 1,000 free automation credits (10 calls) on every Quo plan | Credit-limited | 10 calls' worth; needs a Quo phone plan | Not stated |
| Dialzara | Free trial on each inbound plan | Time-limited trial | 7 days | Not stated |
| Rosie | Free trial, cancel anytime | Time-limited trial | 7 days | Not stated |
| My AI Front Desk | Free trial; the FAQ says there is no permanent free plan | Time-limited trial | 7 days | Unclear: 'no credit card' appears near sign-up |
| Upfirst | Full-feature trial, real calls can be forwarded | Time-limited trial | 14 days | No, per the page |
| Goodcall | Free demo agent; pay when you connect a number | Demo only | No live calls until you pay | Not stated |
| Aira | No trial or free plan mentioned on the pricing page | None listed | Not published | Not stated |
| Ruby (human receptionists) | No trial or refund terms on the pricing page | None listed | Not published | Not stated |
| RingCentral AI Receptionist | Free trial, standalone and add-on | Time-limited trial | 14 days | Not stated |
| Allo | Free trial per the FAQ | Time-limited trial | 7 days | Not published |
| Lead Friendly | Free trial | Time-limited, usage-limited trial | See /pricing for current terms | No credit card |
Lead Friendly is our product. Its terms change, so read them on /pricing and not here.
Try Lead Friendly free
AI voice agents + CRM + TCPA-gated compliance. Free trial: 7 days or 30 AI voice minutes, whichever comes first. No card required.
Four kinds of free, and why the difference matters
- Ongoing free tier: a small monthly allowance with no end date. Smith.ai's page lists 25 real calls a month. Good for a very quiet line or a long evaluation; costs rise per call past the cap.
- Time-limited trial: full or near-full product for a fixed number of days (7 to 14 in the table above). Good for judging quality on real calls if enough calls arrive in the window.
- Credit-limited trial: a fixed allowance, whatever the days. Quo lists 10 calls' worth of credits. Our own trial also has usage limits, so read the current terms on /pricing.
- Demo only: you can build and hear the agent, but live calls start at the first paid step. Goodcall describes it this way.
The question the table cannot answer: card or no card
Of the pages we read, only Upfirst states plainly that no credit card is needed for its trial. My AI Front Desk's pricing page has a 'no credit card required' line near sign-up but does not say whether it covers the trial. Most others are silent.
A card on file matters because a trial can roll into a paid plan. Before you start, check the sign-up form, and set a calendar reminder for the day before the trial ends.
How to run a fair 7-day trial
A week is short. Plan it so that the seven days produce a decision, not a feeling.
- 1
Write the scorecard first
Before you start, list what a good call looks like: correct name and number captured, right service identified, appointment booked or message sent, handoff to a person when asked.
- 2
Forward real calls, not only test calls
Test calls from your own phone show the best case. Forward your main line, or the after-hours overflow, so real callers with real accents and background noise reach it.
- 3
Include nights and a weekend
The reason most owners buy is calls they cannot answer. Make sure the week covers a weekend and at least a few evenings.
- 4
Run six scripted calls yourself
Ask for a person, spell a hard surname, ask a question the agent should not know, interrupt it, call from a noisy place, and give an out-of-area address.
- 5
Check how the meter counts
Find out what counts as a call or minute: short hang-ups, spam, transfers, test calls. Compare the usage page with your own tally after day three.
- 6
Review every recording and message
Read or listen to each call and mark it pass or fail against your scorecard. Check that urgent messages reached a person quickly.
- 7
Decide on day six, not day seven
Price the plan you would need at your real call volume, set the cancel date, and decide with a day to spare.
Matching the free offer to your situation
If you get under 25 calls a month, a free tier may be all you need. If you get a few hundred, a free tier is only a test, and the number to look at is the paid price at your volume: our AI receptionist pricing index lays out published plans side by side.
If you want to hear the agent before sharing a phone number, a demo agent such as Goodcall's is enough for that first step. If you want proof on live calls, pick a vendor whose trial allows forwarding real calls.
Frequently asked questions
Is there a completely free AI receptionist?
Nothing we read is unlimited and free. As of October 2026, Smith.ai lists a free plan of 25 real calls a month with $3.00 per call after that, and Quo's pricing page lists 10 calls' worth of free credits on every plan. Verify both on the vendor's site; caps and terms can change.
Do AI receptionist free trials need a credit card?
It varies and often is not stated. Upfirst's page says no credit card is required for its 14-day trial. Our own trial needs no credit card. For Dialzara, Rosie, Goodcall, Quo and Smith.ai, the pages we read did not say, so check the sign-up form.
Is a 7-day trial long enough?
Only if enough calls arrive in the week. A business with a handful of calls a day can judge it. One with a few calls a week should ask for an extension, or use a free tier for a longer look.
What happens when the free trial ends?
It depends on the vendor. Some roll into a paid plan unless you cancel; others stop answering. Read the end-of-trial terms and set a reminder before the last day.
See it on your own calls
Pick your industry, paste your website, and hear your AI agent take a call. Free for 7 days or 30 AI voice minutes, whichever comes first; no credit card.
Start free trialSources
- Smith.ai AI Receptionist pricing · accessed 2026-10-15Vendor-published: Free plan, 25 calls a month, $3.00 a call after. Card requirement not stated on the page.
- Quo pricing (Sona credits) · accessed 2026-10-15Vendor-published: 1,000 free credits (10 calls) on every plan; 7-day risk-free trial of Quo.
- Dialzara pricing · accessed 2026-10-15Vendor-published: 7-day free trial on inbound plans.
- Rosie pricing · accessed 2026-10-15Vendor-published: 7-day free trial.
- My AI Front Desk pricing · accessed 2026-10-15Vendor-published: 7-day trial; FAQ says no permanently free plan.
- Upfirst pricing · accessed 2026-10-15Vendor-published: 14-day trial, no credit card.
- Goodcall pricing · accessed 2026-10-15Vendor-published: free demo agent, pay on connecting a number.
- Aira pricing · accessed 2026-10-15Vendor-published; no trial mentioned.
- Ruby pricing · accessed 2026-10-15Vendor-published; no trial or refund terms on the page.
- RingCentral AI Receptionist pricing · accessed 2026-10-15Vendor-published: 14-day free trial.
- Allo pricing · accessed 2026-10-15Vendor-published FAQ: 7-day free trial.
- Lead Friendly pricing page · accessed 2026-10-15Our own page; current trial terms live here.