Guides · Comparisons · For medical and dental practices choosing an ai receptionist
HIPAA compliant AI receptionist: which vendors say they sign a BAA
By the Lead Friendly team · Published October 15, 2026 · Updated October 15, 2026
Read these guides often? Add leadfriendly.com as a preferred source in Google.
Short answer: Only some vendors say on their own pages that they sign a Business Associate Agreement (BAA), and it is often tied to an enterprise or custom plan or to a paid add-on. As of October 2026, Bland, Vapi, Retell and Upfirst mention a BAA, and My AI Front Desk says it handles sensitive conversations under signed BAAs; Smith.ai says it is not HIPAA-compliant. A BAA alone does not make a practice compliant. Lead Friendly does not sign a BAA, so a medical practice that needs one should choose a vendor that does.
What a BAA is, and what it does not do
Under the HIPAA rules, a business associate is a person who is not part of a covered entity's workforce and who creates, receives, maintains or transmits protected health information (PHI) for it, or provides certain services to it that involve PHI (45 CFR 160.103). A vendor that answers a clinic's calls, records them and stores transcripts can fall into that category, because a recording of a patient giving a date of birth and a reason for the visit is likely to be PHI.
When that is the case, a covered entity may let the business associate handle PHI only after getting satisfactory assurances that it will be safeguarded, and those assurances are documented in a written contract (45 CFR 164.502(e)). That contract is the BAA.
A signed BAA is a legal precondition, not a compliance programme. It does not make your call scripts, staff training, access controls, recording retention or breach procedures compliant. It also covers only the services named in it, so a BAA for a vendor's phone product may not extend to a newer AI feature. We are not lawyers; take the specifics to your compliance officer or healthcare counsel.
Try Lead Friendly free
AI voice agents + CRM + TCPA-gated compliance. Free trial: 7 days or 30 AI voice minutes, whichever comes first. No card required.
What each vendor's own pages say about HIPAA and a BAA
We opened each vendor's own pricing, security or home page on 2026-10-15 and recorded what it says. 'Not mentioned' means the page we opened did not say, not that the vendor does not offer one; their sales teams may say something different. Verify every row with the vendor before relying on it.
| Vendor | What the page says about HIPAA or a BAA | Plan or price stated | Extra fee stated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Retell (as of Oct 2026) | Calls itself 'HIPAA-ready'; its compliance table lists 'HIPAA / BAA' and 'Custom BAA' | Table not clear on plan; appears tied to Enterprise (custom pricing) | None stated for the BAA |
| Vapi (as of Oct 2026) | HIPAA add-on described as including a Business Associate Agreement | Plan eligibility not stated | $2,000 per month for the add-on |
| Bland (as of Oct 2026) | FAQ says 'HIPAA-eligible with a signed BAA'; BAA marked included under Enterprise only | Enterprise, custom pricing; Start and Build show no BAA | Not stated |
| Synthflow (as of Oct 2026) | HIPAA badge in footer; a BAA is not mentioned | One Enterprise plan, from $30,000 a year | Not stated |
| GoHighLevel (as of Oct 2026) | Lists a 'HIPAA compliance' add-on; Enterprise says it is included; a BAA is not mentioned | Optional add-on; Enterprise says it is included | $297 per month for the add-on |
| Smith.ai (as of Oct 2026) | Medical page: 'not HIPAA-compliant and cannot handle protected health information' | Not applicable | Not applicable |
| Upfirst (as of Oct 2026) | Lists 'BAAs for compliance' for HIPAA-regulated businesses | Custom plan only (over 600 calls, quoted) | None stated |
| My AI Front Desk (as of Oct 2026) | Home page says 'HIPAA compliant' and handles sensitive conversations under signed BAAs; pricing page silent | Plan not stated on the pages we opened | Not stated |
| Ruby (as of Oct 2026) | Pricing page lists 'HIPAA-compliant services' on receptionist plans; BAA not mentioned | Receptionist plans, $250 to $1,725 per month | No separate fee stated |
| Goodcall (as of Oct 2026) | Home page lists 'HIPAA compliant' as a credential; BAA not mentioned | Not stated | Not stated |
| Trillet (as of Oct 2026) | Home page: 'under HIPAA controls'; BAA not mentioned; no prices shown | Not stated | Not stated |
| Dialzara (as of Oct 2026) | FAQ does not mention a BAA and says to contact sales before going live with health information | Not stated | Not stated |
| RingCentral AI Receptionist (as of Oct 2026) | Product page does not mention HIPAA or a BAA; its Trust Center is linked | Sold standalone or as an add-on; price on request | Not stated |
| Lead Friendly | Not HIPAA-eligible; signs no BAA | Not applicable | Not applicable |
What the pattern tells you
Where a BAA is mentioned, it tends to sit above the entry plans: an enterprise tier at Bland, a custom plan at Upfirst, and a paid add-on at Vapi. That matters if you are a one-location practice, because the plan you can afford may not be the plan that comes with the agreement.
Two price points are stated outright, shown below as of October 2026. They are not like for like: the GoHighLevel add-on sits on top of a platform subscription, and Vapi's sits on top of usage fees.
Vendor-published list prices from the vendors' pricing pages; verify current terms before buying.
Source: GoHighLevel pricing page; Vapi pricing page
View the data
| Item | per month |
|---|---|
| GoHighLevel HIPAA add-on | $297 |
| Vapi HIPAA add-on | $2,000 |
Pre-purchase checklist for a practice
- 1
Decide whether calls will contain PHI
If callers will give names with symptoms, dates of birth, insurance or appointment reasons, assume yes and plan for a BAA.
- 2
Ask for the BAA itself, in writing
A 'HIPAA compliant' badge is not the agreement. Ask for the template and have your counsel or compliance officer read it.
- 3
Confirm which plan and which services it covers
Check that the exact product you are buying, including recordings, transcripts, SMS and any AI features, is within the agreement's scope.
- 4
Ask about subcontractors
Voice, transcription and language-model providers may handle the call. The vendor should say which are bound by equivalent terms.
- 5
Ask about storage, retention and model training
Where recordings and transcripts live, how long they are kept, how they are deleted, and whether they are used to train models.
- 6
Ask about breach notification
How quickly the vendor will tell you, and what it will tell you, if PHI is exposed.
- 7
Price the total, not the headline plan
Add the BAA tier or add-on, telephony, extra minutes and any setup fee, then compare against your call volume.
- 8
Run a test call with fake data only
Before real patients, check how the agent handles an emergency, a request for a person and a caller asking for medical advice.
Where Lead Friendly stands
Lead Friendly is an AI phone agent with a built-in CRM, month to month, and every AI call opens with a disclosure that the caller is speaking with an AI voice. It is not HIPAA-eligible and we do not sign a Business Associate Agreement. A medical practice that needs a BAA should choose a vendor that signs one, after checking the agreement itself. The table shows what each vendor's own pages say, not an endorsement.
For businesses that do not handle PHI, including many wellness and appearance-focused practices that only book appointments, Lead Friendly may fit, but confirm with your own counsel that you handle no protected health information; keep clinical detail out of calls, texts and notes. Prices and trial terms are on the pricing page.
Frequently asked questions
Does a HIPAA compliant AI receptionist have to sign a BAA?
If the vendor creates, receives, maintains or transmits protected health information for a covered entity, HIPAA treats it as a business associate, and the covered entity must have a written contract with it (45 CFR 160.103 and 164.502(e)). Whether a given use involves PHI is a question for your compliance officer or counsel.
Is a signed BAA enough to be HIPAA compliant?
No. It is one required document. Your own policies, training, access controls and breach procedures still apply, and the BAA covers only the services it names.
Which AI receptionist vendors mention a BAA?
As of October 2026, the pages we opened from Bland, Vapi, Retell and Upfirst mention a BAA, and My AI Front Desk's home page says it works under signed BAAs. Plans and fees differ; see the table and verify with each vendor.
Can a dental or medical office use Lead Friendly?
Not for protected health information. Lead Friendly is not HIPAA-eligible and signs no Business Associate Agreement, so a practice that needs one should choose a vendor that signs a BAA.
See it on your own calls
Pick your industry, paste your website, and hear your AI agent take a call. Free for 7 days or 30 AI voice minutes, whichever comes first; no credit card.
Start free trialSources
- Retell AI pricing page · accessed 2026-10-15
- Vapi pricing page · accessed 2026-10-15
- Bland pricing page · accessed 2026-10-15
- Synthflow pricing page · accessed 2026-10-15
- GoHighLevel pricing page · accessed 2026-10-15
- Smith.ai medical and wellness answering service page · accessed 2026-10-15
- Upfirst pricing page · accessed 2026-10-15
- My AI Front Desk home page · accessed 2026-10-15
- Ruby pricing page · accessed 2026-10-15
- Goodcall home page · accessed 2026-10-15
- Trillet home page · accessed 2026-10-15
- Dialzara FAQs · accessed 2026-10-15
- RingCentral AI Receptionist page · accessed 2026-10-15
- 45 CFR 160.103, definitions (business associate) · accessed 2026-10-15
- 45 CFR 164.502(e), disclosures to business associates · accessed 2026-10-15
This guide is general information, not legal advice. TCPA, FCC, and state rules change and apply differently to each program — consult qualified counsel about your specific use.